NGA Awards

The NGA awards are held every two years to celebrate the excellent practice of governing boards and clerks across England. Thank you to everyone who nominated a clerk or governing board for the 2015 awards.  The finalists were invited to a prestigious awards ceremony at the House of Commons on 9 June 2015, where the winners were announced. The next awards will be in 2017.

These awards are open to any government funded school in England - including academies, free schools, LA maintained schools, multi-academy trusts. View the photos from the event on NGA's Flickr page here

Award for Outstanding Governing Board

In the Award for Outstanding Governing Board, we celebrate schools that not only demonstrate the three core functions of a governing board, but that has also contributed above and beyond this to strengthen the school or local area, successfully managed challenging circumstances, or has worked quietly to challenge the school and continually raise it to new heights. 

Award for Outstanding Clerk

The Award for Outstanding Clerk is  run jointly with Governors Wales. The clerk plays a vital role in keeping the governing board up to date with changes in legislation, as well as providing advice and administrative functions. We  celebrating clerks who demonstrate the ten competencies of a good clerk in supporting the governing board. 

2015 Finalists

Outstanding Clerk

This year the clerking award had joint winners and went to David Walker of St Georges Church of England Academy Trust, County Durham, and Sally Coulter of William Farr Church of England Comprehensive, Lincoln. Our 4 finalist clerks were:

  • David Walker of St Georges Church of England Academy Trust, County Durham - Winner
  • Sally Coulter of William Farr Church of England Comprehensive, Lincoln - Winner
  • Helen Barber of Riverhead Infants’ School, Kent
  • Anwen Bumby of Ysgol Glan y Mor, Ffordd Caerdydd, Pwllheli, Wales

Outstanding Governing Body

Our 6 finalist schools were:

  • Churchill Community College, Wallsend, Tyne and Wear – Winner
  • Upland Primary School, Bexleyheath, Kent – Special Commendation
  • Silver Springs Primary Academy, Stalybridge, Cheshire – Special Commendation
  • Ashmount Special School, Loughborough, Leicestershire
  • Plantation Primary School, Halewood, Knowsley
  • Kingsway Community Trust, Manchester

Emma Knights, Chief Executive of the National Governors' Association, said: “Our finalists for the Outstanding Governance Awards 2015 all demonstrated how good governance and clerking can be. They all show how they make a real difference to the achievement of and opportunities for children and young people. It takes commitment, skill, teamwork and clarity of direction to do what these people do and we are proud to celebrate them today at the House of Commons.”

The winners and the event at the House of Commons were reported in Governing Matters in July 2015 and in SchoolsWeek.  

You can read more about our finalists in the event programme which can be downloaded here