Release date: 04/01/2018

Governors and trustees from schools and trusts in England were recognised in the New Year’s honours for their service to education or to children with special educational needs and disabilities. NGA believes it is hugely important to recognise and reward the contribution of governors and trustees for their role in improving the education of children and young people. NGA extends its warm congratulations and thanks to all those honoured. 

Governors and trustees receiving honours for services to education are:

  • Joan Bamber – Governor, Newfield School, Blackburn, Lancashire.
  • John Bowers – Chair of Governors, Dixons Kings Academy, Calverton, Nottinghamshire.
  • Maria Eves – Chair of Governors, Broughton Hall Catholic High School and Vice Chair, St Teresa of Lisieux Catholic Primary School, Liverpool.
  • Rosemary Hadfield – Member, The Clement Danes Trust Board and Associate Governor, Westfield Academy, Chorleywood, Hertfordshire.
  • Colin Roy Hopkins – School Governor and Chair of Trustees, Church of England Central Education Trust, Burton on Trent, Derbyshire.
  • Anthony Colin Johnson – Chair of Governors, Oaklands Primary School, Yeovil, Somerset.
  • Kathleen Keillor – Governor, Caroline Haslett Primary School, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire.
  • Gillian Lane – Lately Vice-Chair of Governors, Central College Nottingham and Governor, Acorn Primary Federation, Burton Joyce, Nottinghamshire.
  • Michael John Pipes – Lately School Governor, Emsworth, Hampshire.
  • Philip Hamilton – Chief Executive Officer and Founding Trustee, Community Academies Trust, Burton-on-Trent, Staffordshire.
  • Margaret Helen Hollingsworth – Lately Trustee, Inspiration Trust, London, SE1.


Governors and trustees receiving honours for services to children with special educational needs and disabilities are:

  • Joanna Caroline Jane Brotherstone – Governor, Greenmead School, Wandsworth, London. 
  • Christopher Brown – Governor and former chair, Sir Tom Finney Community High School, Preston, Lancashire.
  • Paul Nicholas Berman – Chair of Trustees, Wargrave House School, Didsbury, Greater Manchester.


Also receiving recognition is NGA’s chief executive Emma Knights who received an OBE for services to education. Commenting on the honour, Emma said,

“I am delighted to have recognition for the work of National Governance Association, past, present and future. So many people have contributed to raising the profile of school governance. Most importantly, the honour is also due to the 250,000 volunteers governing state schools in England who give freely of their time for the benefit of pupils and whom NGA supports. 

“The good wishes sent to me over the past week have been extremely touching and the number of people celebrating this award as recognition of school governance was humbling. Thank you.

“It was also very pleasing to see many governors and trustees honoured for their voluntary contribution, and we are happy to help others nominate for this coming year. But only a few will be recognised in this way, so let’s make 2018 a year in which all our volunteers are thanked.”

Recognising their contribution is a great way to celebrate the impact that school governors, trustees and clerks are making in their communities. NGA actively encourages the nomination of governors and trustees for honours, and has prepared guidance to support this.

Connect With Us
  • NGA, 36 Great Charles Street, Birmingham, B3 3JY
  • Phone: 0121 237 3780 | Contact Us
  • Charity Number: 1070331 | Company Number 3549029

Copyright © 2019 National Governance AssociationA Dreamscape Digital Solution