Release date: 04/01/2016

A huge NGA congratulations to everyone working in education who received an honour in the Queen’s New Year Honours list 2016, published 31 December 2015. The list recognises 107 people for their service to education and children’s services, including: headteachers, classroom teachers, school governors and others. For NGA it is of course a delight to see honours for voluntary contributions, and specifically for school governance.

Chris Wormald, Department for Education Permanent Secretary, said: “Their hard work and dedication are helping to improve the lives of children and young people and raising educational standards across the country, so that every child and young person can fulfil their potential.”

Judith Bennett


Among the recipients was Judith Bennett who has been awarded an OBE for her services to education. Judith was lately an NGA trustee and she also serves as vice-chair of governors at Chalgrove Community Primary School in Oxfordshire. Judith was instrumental in the merger between the National Governors' Council and the National Association of School Governors to form the National Governors’ Association in 2006, acting as our second chair and has continued to actively support the NGA, as well as the Oxfordshire Governors’ Association. 

Duncan Haworth



Duncan Haworth has been awarded an MBE for his services to education. Duncan has served as chair of the NGA and was re-elected to the board of trustees in 2015. He also serves as chair of governors at Woodfall Primary School in Cheshire and is also a governor at a large convertor academy secondary school. He is a National Leader of Governance as well as playing an active role in the Cheshire West and Chester Governors’ Association.


Margaret Southworth, chair of the SABDEN Multi-Academy Trust in East Sussex, has been awarded an MBE for services to education. Margaret is a member of NGA’s special schools advisory group and in 2011 the governing board of SABDEN federation were finalists in NGA’s awards for outstanding governance.   

Others receiving awards for school governance are:

·        Mr Paul Chubb, chair, The Dales School, North Yorkshire

·        Mr Paul Chidgey, chair, The Barlow RC High School and Specialist Science College, Manchester

·        Mrs Dolores Bray-Ash, vice chair of governors, Charles Darwin School, Bromley

·        Mr Michael Galloway-Allbut, governor and lately chair of governors, Catherine Infant School, Leicester

·        Mrs Maureen Gould, chair, Oak View School, Essex Mr Chris Howard, lately chair, Saxon Wood School, Basingstoke

·        Mr Clive Hubery, chair, The Oaks Secondary School, Spennymoor, Co. Durham

·        Mr David Peck, chair, Ravenscliffe High School and Sports College, Halifax  

·        Professor Ron Ritchie, Chair, Cabot Learning Federation Academies Trust

·        Mr Gordon Stubberfield, chair, Southgate School, Enfield

We actively encourage honours nominations for those who have made a real difference for pupils in school - even more so to a number of schools. So please consider nominating a governor or trustee for the next round of honours. Take a look at the guidance or if you’d like to find out more about making a nomination for a governor email:

Connect With Us
  • NGA, 36 Great Charles Street, Birmingham, B3 3JY
  • Phone: 0121 237 3780 | Contact Us
  • Charity Number: 1070331 | Company Number 3549029

Copyright © 2019 National Governance AssociationA Dreamscape Digital Solution