Governors awarded Birthday Honours 2015


Congratulations to everyone working in Education who received an honour in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list 2015, published Friday 12 June. This year the list recognises 108 people for their service to education and children’s services including headteachers, classroom teachers, school governors and others, although it is of course for NGA an especial pleasure to see honours for voluntary contributions, and specifically for school governance.

Chris Wormald, Department for Education Permanent Secretary, said: “Their achievements and dedication are helping to improve the lives of children and young people, and raising educational standards across the country, so that every child and young person can fulfil their potential.”

Hats off to our very own Lead Consultant, Clare Collins. Clare has been awarded an MBE for her services to education and school governance.  Clare has volunteered as a governor for many years, and has been a chair of governors at a number, more recently choosing to serve at challenging schools in disadvantaged areas.  Clare was one of National Governors’ Association’s first Vice-Chairs and then became a successful chair of our Board of Trustees.  She now leads and develops NGA’s training and consultancy team, following a successful pilot in 2013. Click here to find out more about the work of Clare and her team.    

Congratulations also go to Jean Lewis, Chair of governors at Ashmount Special School in Loughborough. The governing board of Ashmount were finalists in this years’ NGA awards for outstanding governance.

Others receiving awards for school governance include: Raymond Barker, chair of governors (Honilands Primary School, Enfield), Linda Crawley, chair of governors (Alban City School, Hertfordshire), Robert Hadfield, chair of governors (Crampton Primary School, London), Peter Kessler, chair of governors (Eden Primary, London), Robert Love, local authority governor (Morden Mount Primary School, London), Aileen Parry, chair of governors, (Oaklands School, Cheshire), Helen Ayling, vice-chair of governors, (Uplands School, Sandhurst), and Caroline Fowke, Governor (Sheldon School, Wiltshire)

The NGA actively encourages honours nominations for those who have made a real difference for pupils in a schools, or even more so a number of schools.  Please consider nominating a governor or trustee for the next round of honours. Take a look at the guidance for nominating school governors and trustees.  Or if you’d like to find out more about making a nomination for a governor, email:

If you’d like to look at the full Education specific honours list, you can find it here: