Release date: 04/01/2017

A huge NGA congratulations to everyone working in education who received an honour in the Queen’s New Year Honours list 2017. The list recognises 120 people for their service to education and children’s services.  For NGA it is of course a delight to see honours for voluntary contributions, and specifically for school governance.

Jonathan Slater, Department for Education Permanent Secretary, said: “I would like to congratulate all of the award winners in the New Year Honours List. Their outstanding work is improving the lives of children and young people through excellent care and education".

Among the recipients was Tracey Booth, who has been awarded an MBE for her services to education. Tracey was part of the governing board that won NGA’s Outstanding Governance Award back in 2015. NGA’s judges said of her board at Churchill Community College: “The governing board’s breadth of experience and skills is wide ranging and their expertise has enabled them to challenge leaders well, holding them to account for the progress made by all. We were very impressed by the way this governing board interacts with its students and gives them the opportunity to share their feedback so that governors have a clear picture of how students feel about their learning experience.”  Congratulations also go to Diane Croston, Chair of Morgans Primary School and Nursery in Hertfordshire. Diane's board were finalists in the 2015 awards and she was awarded a British Empire Medal.   

Others receiving awards for school governance were:

  • Professor Mary Dunning, lately governor, Tyne Metropolitan College, North East of England
  • Mr Anthony Bayon, Chair, Harris Academy Merton and Harris Academy, and Member of the Harris Federation Board
  • Mr Joseph Cahill, Chair, Broadway Academy, Birmingham
  • Mr Peter Davies, Chair, Kingsdown School, Southend on Sea, Essex and Chair of the Interim Executive Board, Leigh North Street Juniors
  • Mrs Helen Dicker, Chair of Governors, Tarleton Academy and Lately Chair of Governors, Tarleton Community Primary, Southport
  • Mrs Betty Dixon, Chair, Jacksdale Primary School and Selston Primary School, Nottinghamshire
  • Mrs Yvonne Edwards, Governor and former Chair, Northampton School for Boys
  • Mrs Glynis Kortright, lately chair, St Andrew’s and St Mark’s Junior School, Surrey
  • Mr Michael Spence, Former Governor, Manorbrook Primary School, Gloucestershire
  • Mrs Philomena Marshall, Education Director and trustee of Laidlaw Schools Trust
  • Councillor Mohammed Aikhlaq, Chair of Leigh Multi-Academy Trust, Birmingham
  • Mrs Patricia Gould, Chair of High View School, Plymouth

We actively encourage honours nominations for those who have made a real difference for pupils in school - even more so to a number of schools. Please consider nominating a governor or trustee for the next round of honours. Take a look at the guidance or if you’d like to find out more about making a nomination for a governor email:

If you’d like to look at the full Education specific honours list, you can find it here:

Connect With Us
  • NGA, 36 Great Charles Street, Birmingham, B3 3JY
  • Phone: 0121 237 3780 | Contact Us
  • Charity Number: 1070331 | Company Number 3549029

Copyright © 2019 National Governance AssociationA Dreamscape Digital Solution